

DRAFT MINUTES

TREASURE ISLAND MOBILITY MANAGEMENT AGENCY

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

1. Roll Call

Chair Haney called the meeting to order at 11:15 a.m. The following members were:

Present at Roll Call: Commissioners Brown, Fewer, Haney, Mar, Mandelman, Peskin, Safai, Stefani, Walton and Yee (10)

Absent at Roll Call: Commissioner Ronen (entered during Item 3) (1)

2. Chair's Report – INFORMATION

Vice-Chair Yee elected to forego the Chair's Report.

There was no public comment.

3. Executive Director's Report – INFORMATION

Tilly Chang, Executive Director, presented the Executive Director's Report.

Commissioner Brown requested an amendment to the December 11, 2018 TIMMA Board minutes to include her recommendation that staff conduct further outreach to calculate how many times per day residents depart Treasure Island to drop off and pick up their children for outside activities. She said knowing on average how many times residents leave the island a day would help guide the conversation of the tolling program and compensation for residents.

During public comment Francisco Da-Costa requested that the Board and Transportation Authority staff act in the best interest of Treasure Island residents and not accommodate to the needs of developers.

Bobby [Last-name unknown], Treasure Island resident, said that Treasure Island's residents were having ongoing community meetings related to the proposed toll policy. He said current residents were not the cause of increased congestion on the island and should not be imposed toll fees.

4. Approve the Minutes of the December 11, 2018 Meeting – ACTION

There was no public comment.

Commissioner Peskin moved to approve the minutes subject to Commissioner Brown's requested amendment, seconded by Commissioner Ronen.

The minutes as amended were approved without objection by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Brown, Fewer, Haney, Mar, Mandelman, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Stefani, Walton and Yee (11)

5. Election of Chair and Vice Chair for 2019 – ACTION

Commissioner Walton moved to nominate Commissioner Haney for Chair of the Treasure Island Mobility Management Agency (TIMMA), seconded by Commissioner Stefani.

There was no public comment.

Commissioner Haney was elected Chair by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Brown, Fewer, Haney, Mar, Mandelman, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Stefani, Walton and Yee (11)

Commissioner Mandelman moved to nominate Commissioner Walton for Vice-Chair of TIMMA, seconded by Commissioner Safai.

During public comment Francisco Da-Costa said he had been involved for over 40 years in matters involving the Naval base closure on Treasure Island and that the island was sinking one and a half inches every year. He requested that the newly elected Chair and Vice-Chair not repeat what was happening at Hunter's Point and stated that Treasure Island was contaminated. He recommended that the Board study the precautionary principle, which stated that if any project was ongoing and adversely impacted any life, including animals, the job had to stop until further investigation.

Commissioner Walton was elected Vice-Chair by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Brown, Fewer, Haney, Mar, Mandelman, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Stefani, Walton and Yee (11)

6. Introduction of New Items – INFORMATION

There were no new items introduced.

7. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

8. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 11:36 a.m.