

DRAFT MINUTES

TREASURE ISLAND MOBILITY MANAGEMENT AGENCY

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

1. Roll Call

Chair Kim called the meeting to order at 10:42 a.m. The following members were:

Present at Roll Call: Commissioners Farrell, Fewer, Kim, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Sheehy, Tang and Yee (9)

Absent at Roll Call: Commissioners Breed and Cohen (2)

Chair Kim called Items 2 and 3 together.

2. Chair's Report – INFORMATION

3. Executive Director's Report – INFORMATION

Chair Kim reported that TIMMA accomplished a lot in 2016, including adopting an initial set of toll policies to begin shaping the toll program that would support robust future bus and ferry transit on Treasure Island. She said that while the specific toll level would be worked out over the next several years, the Board established some parameters such as the population and directions of travel to be tolled and the shape of the discount and exemption policy. She said key to this policy direction was the TIMMA Committee's input regarding affordability. She said the recommendations that the Board adopted addressed toll burden concerns for the Island's low-income residents by directing the establishment of a Transportation Affordability Program, including a first toll free policy in the early years of the program and discounted transit fares for low-income travelers.

Chair Kim said that in 2018 the Board would continue to be busy as it designed the Transportation Program. She said the work encompassed planning the Islands' new ferry service, expanded bus service, on-island shuttle, and car and bike share and entering into interagency agreements with the Alameda-Contra Costa County Transit District, the ferry provider Water Emergency Transportation Authority, the regional toll agency Bay Area Toll Authority, as well as seeking funding from state and regional grants. She congratulated staff, along with the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA) and UC Berkeley, for winning a \$6 million grant from the U.S. Department of Transportation to fund new technology to support future tolling and autonomous shuttle systems on the Islands. She said the grant and matching funds would allow the procurement of the tolling system in the fall, and said staff would continue to work with the SFMTA on the related parking systems and with the Metropolitan Transportation Commission to tie these components together through back-end payment and information systems. She said she looked forward to working with the Board on these and many other exciting milestones in the coming year.

Tilly Chang, Executive Director, presented the Executive Director's Report.

There was no public comment on Items 2 and 3.

4. Approve the Minutes of the July 26, 2016 Meeting – ACTION

There was no public comment.

The minutes were approved without objection by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Farrell, Fewer, Kim, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Sheehy, Tang and Yee (9)

Absent: Commissioners Breed and Cohen (2)

5. Election of Chair and Vice Chair for 2017 – ACTION

Commissioner Peskin commented that Treasure Island was undergoing a series of transportation initiatives and a future housing development originally approved by the Board of Supervisors in 2006. He said that in her role as Supervisor of District 6, Commissioner Kim was working to increase the percentage of affordable housing on Treasure Island which was linked to transportation improvements including ferry service and on-and-off ramp improvements.

Commissioner Peskin moved to nominate Commissioner Kim for Chair of the Treasure Island Mobility Management Agency (TIMMA), seconded by Commissioner Farrell.

There was no public comment.

Commissioner Kim was elected Chair by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Farrell, Fewer, Kim, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Sheehy, Tang and Yee (9)

Absent: Commissioners Breed and Cohen (2)

Commissioner Peskin moved to nominate Commissioner Yee for Vice Chair of TIMMA, seconded by Commissioner Tang.

There was no public comment.

Commissioner Yee was elected Vice Chair by the following vote:

This item was approved without objection by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Farrell, Fewer, Kim, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Sheehy, Tang and Yee (9)

Absent: Commissioners Breed and Cohen (2)

6. Introduction of New Items – INFORMATION

There were no new items introduced.

7. Public Comment

During public comment, Andrew Yip spoke about family.

8. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:59 a.m.