

## RESOLUTION EXTENDING THE VISION ZERO COMMITTEE OF THE TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY FOR AN ADDITIONAL TWO-YEAR PERIOD

WHEREAS, On February 25, 2014, the Transportation Authority Board approved Resolution 14-58, establishing an ad hoc Vision Zero Committee of the Transportation Authority to track and support the City's progress toward prioritizing street safety and eliminating traffic deaths by 2024; and

WHEREAS, The Vision Zero Committee was established to serve for a two-year period beginning from the first Committee meeting and was composed of four members, with the Transportation Authority Chair serving as an ex-officio member; and

WHEREAS, On February 23, 2016, the Transportation Authority Board approved Resolution 16-41, revising the structure of the Vision Zero Committee from five to three members to ensure that the Committee will be able to maintain quorum at its meetings, with the Transportation Authority Chair serving as an ex-officio member; and

WHEREAS, The first meeting of the Vision Zero Committee was held on April 10, 2014, with subsequent meetings held on an ad hoc basis but on a quarterly schedule; and

WHEREAS, Unless extended, the Vision Zero Committee will be discontinued on April 10, 2018; and

WHEREAS, At its March 13, 2018 meeting, the Transportation Authority Board met and recommended extending the Vision Zero Committee for an additional two-year period to continue to track and support the City's progress toward prioritizing street safety and eliminating traffic deaths by 2024; with final approval to be considered at the March 20, 2018 Board meeting; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Transportation Authority hereby extends the Vision Zero Committee for an additional two year-period, ending on April 10, 2020.



The foregoing Resolution was approved and adopted by the San Francisco County Transportation Authority at a regularly scheduled meeting thereof, this 20th day of March, 2018, by the following votes:

Ayes: Commissioners Breed, Fewer, Kim, Ronen, Stefani and Tang (6)

Absent: Commissioners Cohen, Peskin, Safai, Sheehy and Yee (5) 4-24-18

Aaron Peskin Chair

Date

the 30/18 Date

ATTEST:

Tilly Chang Executive Director

M:\Board\Resolutions\2018RES\R18-44 Extending Vision Zero Committee.docx